TikTok video creators can choose who can see their videos by modifying the video’s privacy settings. Users can choose to display their videos to everyone on the app, their friends or just themselves. Video privacy settings are available for both private and public TikTok accounts. However, private accounts can’t choose the ‘Everyone’ option since their content is only visible to their approved followers.
TikTok has released multiple features, filters and effects in the past few weeks to keep itself ahead of the competition against Facebook/Instagram’s Reels, YouTube Shorts, and other vertical video platforms. Earlier, TikTok released its own Avatars, alongside new filters and effects, such as the TikTok Dynamic photo filter and the TikTok Sad filter. Generally, TikTok-inspired short vertical videos are on the rise now since they are easier to produce and watch.
Users can choose their TikTok video’s privacy settings while publishing it or even after that. In the first case, users can create and edit their video as much as they want, and when they proceed to the publishing step, several options will appear, including ‘Who Can Watch It.’ At this point, users can choose who to post their TikTok videos to. They just have to tap the option, and a pop-up will appear with ‘Everyone,’ ‘Friends’ and ‘Only Me.’ Just click on the circle to choose an option.
How To Manage TikTok Video’s Privacy Settings
When the user chooses to publish the video to ‘Friends,’ it will be visible only to the followers they follow back. This set of settings is available for public and private accounts. For private accounts, users can post the video to their TikTok friends or post it as a private video so nobody can see it. Users can generally modify a video’s privacy settings any time they want. Users can switch between public and private accounts on Android and iOS by tapping their ‘Profile’ in the bottom-right corner, then the three-line icon in the top-right corner to find the ‘Settings & Privacy’ options. Finally, users should tap the ‘Privacy’ button to see the account discoverability settings. Here users can toggle on or off for their account to be private. They can also choose who their account can be suggested to. These include contacts, Facebook friends, “people with mutual connection” and “people who open or send links to you.”
After publishing the video, users can edit its privacy settings by tapping on their ‘Profile’ in the bottom-right corner, opening the video, and tapping the three-dot icon. Now, users should swipe among the visible settings until they find the ‘Privacy Settings’ option, and they should tap it. A new window will open containing multiple TikTok privacy options, such as ‘Allow Stitch,’ ‘Allow Duet,’ ‘Allow Comments’ and ‘Who Can Watch This Video.’ Users should tab the latter option to choose between making the video visible to everyone, friends, or no one. It’s worth noting that changing the video’s privacy settings doesn’t reset the view count. Also, every video should follow TikTok’s Community Guidelines, even if it’s private.